Fayetteville–>London

May 18, 2016

Hello! This is my first post of my travel blog! Even though I have yet to leave the States, I am already in class to prepare for my study abroad tip. It’s hard to believe how fast my freshman year went! I moved out of the dorm on Friday, stuffed my parents’ car to the gills and then stayed in Fayetteville. I’m staying with a couple of Phi Lamb girls in a house near campus for the week. It’s been a great experience and I’ve done lots of cooking this week, something that I missed greatly because I did not have a kitchen in the dorm. I’m glad I had the weekend to spend some time with my parents before beginning this journey, and I will also be returning to Dallas for a short time before we depart on Monday.

I have been in class every morning this week learning about all things London. We have reviewed our class syllabus (I’m getting six hours of honors credit for exploring Europe and watching plays, how cool is that?!) and our itinerary for the trip. It is going to the month jam-packed with awesome stuff. Most nights we will be going to see shows, lots of Shakespeare. During the day we will be visiting a myriad of museums and other historically significant locations throughout London. Half way through the trip, we will spend two days in Stratford-upon-Avon, the birthplace of Shakespeare. Additionally, we are given several free days to explore the city, and I will be traveling to Paris during some of that free time (I just bought my tickets less than an hour ago!).

Throughout this week we have been discussing eight texts that were assigned to us a few weeks ago. We will be going to see live productions of each of these, along with many others, during our month in London. Among my favorites are Hamlet, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and Blue/Orange. My heaviest assignment so far has been writing a scene analysis over The Deep Blue Sea, but even that was not too difficult. The only other assignments that I will be graded over are the daily blog posts that you are reading right now.

It is quite fascinating learning about the culture of London. I’ve heard that England is not known for their food, but I’m still looking forward to experiencing that aspect of British culture. When we are staying in Stratford-upon-Avon we will have the opportunity to have full English breakfast, which consists of sausage and bacon, beans, tomatoes, fried bread, eggs, and various condiments. That’s a lot of food…but, I’m told it’s an experience I should have. Of course, you can’t go to England without taking high tea and eating fish and chips, and I do intend to do both.

I am quite enjoying my last week here in Fayetteville. I have taken the opportunity to explore some of the cool places that I didn’t have time to get to during the school year. I have discovered a cute little tearoom near the square called Savoy. They have an entire wall filled with loose-leaf teas to try. I’ve been there twice already this week. I am writing this blog post from Arsagas, enjoying a Frisco Trail smoothie and the best piece of gourmet toast I have ever had. Tonight I am going to the Rodeo Book Club show at Backspace. Rodeo Book Club is a improve show created by a group of students at the U of A. I’ve never been to their shows before, but I’m sure it will be enjoyable. Tomorrow night, I am going to see Murder for Two at TheatreSquared, a regional theater in Fayetteville, for the second time this week. I so enjoyed it the first time that I just couldn’t leave town without seeing it again.

I will return to Dallas on Friday afternoon after my morning class. If I don’t have the opportunity to see you this weekend, make sure you keep up with my blog posts, follow me on Instagram (lizziereimer1), and check my Facebook for updates and pictures throughout the month. I look forward to being a Hogs Abroad student, informally known as Bacon International. Just kidding…that’s not a thing…

3 thoughts on “Fayetteville–>London

  1. Thanks for the update, Lizzie. Sounds like you are taking full advantage of all that’s been provided to you. We hope you have a safe and fun trip to London and Paris. Looking forward to seeing you before you depart. You are awesome! Papa S.

    Like

  2. Sounds like an amazing opportunity for you. I’m very proud of you and look forward to experiencing London vicariously through your posts! Safe travels and much love! ♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

