I need antihistamines.

June 5, 2016

Not much to say today…

It was a free day, so naturally, I slept in until 10.  Breakfast this morning was a simple piece of toast with butter and jam and a cup of tea.  After breakfast, a group of us took the DLR train out to Greenwich to shop at a few antique and flea market type places.  I found a lot that I liked, but nothing that I liked enough to buy.  I take that back, I did like a rather large handmade leather toiletry bag, but it cost £35.  Translation $47.  I can buy a West End ticket for half that.

We had lunch in Greenwich and walked around for a little while until some of us were so conquered by our allergies that we had to return to the hotel for antihistamines.

By this time, I had about an hour left before I needed to leave for my show, so I relaxed in my room and read for a little while.  I’ve started a book that I bought here last week called Vampires in the Lemon Grove.  It’s a collection of short stories involving the supernatural and dark humor.  It’s pretty funny and a quick read.

The show de jour was In the Heights, a new Tony award winning musical about the lives of Hispanic Americans in a neighborhood outside the Bronx.  It was a lively show, but definitely not the favorite of all that I’ve seen.  There were some truly talented vocalists on the cast, unfortunately, one particularly bad actress kind of spoiled the show a little bit for me.  This was the first performance that I have ever seen presented in alley style, and I thought it was staged very effectively.  I never felt that I couldn’t see what was going on or that I had missed anything.

It was an early 6 pm show, so I am already back at my hotel room and the sun isn’t even all the way down yet.  Unsure what to do with the rest of my evening…

Hampton Court Palace and The Flick tomorrow at the National.

3 thoughts on “I need antihistamines.

Leave a Reply

