Au Revoir Paris

June 12, 2016

I am writing this blog post from the Eurostar train back to Paris.

Today was an eventful day, better than yesterday. We got up this morning for our 11 o’clock check out from the hotel, and we had them hold our bags for the day. Then we travelled to the Louvre. The Louvre is housed in a huge building that used to be a palace for the royals. We got to see Napoleon III’s lavishly decorated apartments. The cost of the chandeliers alone could probably buy a whole new palace. The Louvre now holds over 36,000 works of art and pieces of history, including Da Vinci’s Mona Lisa, Madonna of the Rocks, and Venus De Milo. Thousands of sculptures, paintings, and carvings adorn the halls of this old mansion. This is another place where you could spend days and still not see everything there is to see. Unfortunately, I can’t offer many interesting facts about the pieces that we saw today because all of the name cards were in French.

After spending several hours at the Louvre, we had worked up quite an appetite. We took the metro to the station near the Arc de Triomphe and had sandwiches for lunch. Then we took the hike up to the top of the Arc de Triomphe. Stairs all the way. But the view was totally worth it! You can see all of Paris for miles after the 284 step journey to the top.  It was a cloudy afternoon, so our pictures probably aren’t as good as they could have been, but it was still beautiful and well worth it.

Dessert = more nutella crepes

Transition: I am now writing from the safety of our London home, Pickwick Hall, because me + electronic screen + rapidly moving transportation = motion sickness.

Following our crepes, we took the metro back to our hotel to pick up our luggage and let our phones charge for a little while.  About an hour later, we took the metro back to the Gare du Nord to catch our Eurostar train.  We were delayed for 30 minutes because the train had arrived a tad bit late from London.  For the remainder of the ride after writing half of this blog, I listened to my country playlist, because I’ve definitely been missing my favorite music.  I had a smoked salmon sandwich and coke for dinner and we arrived in London at 10:55.  I am now back to a six hour time difference between here and the US.

I’M HOME!!!!!!!!

I appreciate London so much more now that I’ve been to Paris.  I was more giddy and excited to arrive here tonight than I was when we first touched down here three weeks ago.  The tube smells wonderful here.  London is a huge breath of fresh air.  I feel safe, loved, and far less smelly here.  I’ve unpacked, showered, and finished my blog for the day, and now it is time for bed!

Yay London!!

2 thoughts on “Au Revoir Paris

  1. I’m glad you’re happy to be back “home.” I feel better with you being back in London. France is not one of my favorite countries. I’ve never been there, so maybe I’m not being fair, but their history says a lot about them. Did I miss it, or did you not go to the top of the Eiffel Tower?…….just curious. It is great you got to see all the wonderful things you did, all those things and places the rest of us have thought about wanting to see “someday”. XXOO

    Like

Leave a Reply

