At Waterloo Napoleon Did Surrender

June 18, 2016

Today was another mostly free day.  I slept until about 10:30 and then got up to go to Notting Hill with Mia.  Notting Hill os home to the rainbow houses and Portobello Road Market (*finally, cue the Bed Knobs and Broomsticks music*), where I have been meaning to go for several weeks now. Portobello Road Market is one of London’s oldest antique markets and had tons of cute tea paraphernalia, artistic prints, and souvenirs.  We walked around for a little while and took pictures of all of the cute painted houses.  See my Facebook for all the #supercute pictures.

We had lunch at the Earl of Lonsdale pub, where I crowned the new reigning best mac and cheese of the trip.  Alexa and Jonathan joined us after lunch, and we walked around for about another hour.  We went into a sock store that sold 3 pairs for £10, so of course, I bought 15 pairs.  Not really.  But I did buy three pairs and I’m really super excited about them.

At 2, I started heading back to our neck of woods for a 3 pm matinee of Mamma Mia.  I go for the classic ABBA music, not the crazy story.  Fun show! Lively colors, lights, and costumes.  The cast definitely did justice to these well-known songs.  My favorite part of the performance was the mini-concert that the cast put on after the curtain call. The last song they sang was ‘Waterloo,’ which is one of my favorite ABBA songs, but it is not in the actual musical, so I was happy to hear it.

After the show, I went back to the hostel to give my phone a little bit of a charge before our 6:30 departure time for our evening show.  We went to Shakespeare’s Henry V at Regents Park Open Air Theatre.  It was pretty chilly, but not unbearable.  However, I did have a pretty hard time staying awake…I’ll write more about the show in a separate post tomorrow.

For now, it’s time for bed.

Tomorrow is our last full day here! Mixed emotions. It’s a free day.  I’m planning to get up and go to Brick Lane Market in the morning/lunch time, and then will see a matinee show of Who’s Line is it Anyway? with the original British host.  And then, the packing.  Oh, how I am dreading the packing…

One thought on “At Waterloo Napoleon Did Surrender

  1. Sounds like a fun day, except that part about trying to stay awake during Henry V. I really liked the movie Mamma Mia, like you said, great music. How’s Line Is It Anyway? was one of those shows we always tried to watch. It was sooooo funny. I wish it were still on. We could all use more laughs. Have a great day tomorrow………sorry about the packing. XXOO

    Like

Leave a Reply

